Eclipse of the Full Beaver Moon Adorning the November Sky

( The Full Beaver Moon shines in the November sky. )

When to see the Full Moon in November 2020?

Last week the waxing crescent Moon passed close to the brilliant gas giants, Jupiter and Saturn. This week the observers will see the Full Beaver Moon adorning the sky: our natural satellite will reach its full phase on November 30, 2020, at 4:30 EST (9:30 GMT), traversing the constellation Taurus.

Why is it called the Full Beaver Moon?

Traditional names for the Full Moons are associated with peculiarities of a particular season or seasonal activities. November’s Full Moon is called the Beaver Moon because beavers build their winter dams and prepare for the cold season during this month. November was also considered the best month to hunt for these animals before they stowed away for the winter. Other names are the Full Frost Moon and the Full Mourning Moon (in the Pagan tradition).

Penumbral Lunar Eclipse on November 30, 2020

The observers from North and Central America and northern Asia will have a chance to witness a penumbral lunar eclipse that will take place on November 30, 2020, between 2:33 and 6:54 EST (7:33 and 11:54 GMT). A penumbral lunar eclipse occurs when our natural satellite passes through the faint, outer part of the Earth’s shadow called Earth’s penumbra. As a result, we can see the subtle dimming of the lunar disk.

--

--

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
Star Walk

Star Walk

Point your device at the sky and see what stars, constellations, and satellites you are looking at 🌌✨ https://starwalk.space