Enjoy the Brilliant Duo of the Moon and Mars

The Moon meets Mars

On May 16, 2021, at 12:47 a.m. EDT (04:47 GMT), the conjunction of the 5-days-old Moon and the reddish planet Mars will occur. At this moment, the heavenly bodies will share the same right ascension, lying at a distance of 1°28′ from each other. The Moon will shine at a magnitude of -10.6, and Mars will be at a magnitude of 1.7. You’ll see the astronomical duo among the stars of the constellation Gemini.

Mercury at greatest eastern elongation

On May 17, at 04:14 a.m. EDT (08:14 GMT), one more noteworthy astronomical event will happen: the speedy little planet Mercury will reach its greatest eastern elongation. It is the most favorable moment for observation of Mercury as the elusive planet reaches its greatest separation from the Sun, as seen from the Earth. As Mercury is best observed during the evening hours at the eastern elongation, it is also called the evening one.

--

--

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
Star Walk

Star Walk

Point your device at the sky and see what stars, constellations, and satellites you are looking at 🌌✨ https://starwalk.space