Planets next to the Moon in September 2022

In September 2022, we’ll have a chance to see the Moon next to Saturn, Jupiter, and Mars. Check our lunar-planetary conjunctions calendar to learn what planet is close to the Moon right now.

September 8: Moon-Saturn conjunction

On September 8, at 10:31 GMT (6:31 a.m. EDT), two days before the Full Moon, our natural satellite will meet Saturn in the constellation Capricornus. The celestial bodies will be 3°56' apart. The distance is too far for them to fit within the field of view of a telescope. To see both objects at once, use binoculars or observe them with the naked eye. Saturn will shine at a magnitude of 0.3; it might be tricky to spot it next to the 96%-illuminated Moon.

September 11: Moon-Jupiter conjunction

On September 11, at 15:11 GMT (11:11 a.m. EDT), the Moon will pass 1°48' from Jupiter. At the moment of conjunction, both objects will be in the constellation Pisces. The event will occur one day after the Full Moon, and the 96%-illuminated lunar disk will be the brightest spot in the night sky. A telescope will provide the best view of the lunar craters. Opt for binoculars or observe with the naked eye to see the conjunction: Jupiter will shine at a magnitude of -2.9, which is bright enough to be found without optical devices.

September 17: Moon-Mars conjunction

On September 17, at 01:41 GMT (September 16, 9:41 p.m. EDT), observe the half-illuminated Moon next to Mars in the constellation Taurus. The distance between them will be 3°36', which is too far to fit within the field of view of a telescope. To see both objects together, you can take binoculars or observe the scene without optical devices: Mars will be within naked-eye visibility, shining at a magnitude of -0.4.

Wishing you clear skies and happy observations!

--

--

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
Star Walk

Star Walk

Point your device at the sky and see what stars, constellations, and satellites you are looking at 🌌✨ https://starwalk.space