The Moon and Mars Shine Together in the Summer Sky

( The Moon visits Mars this weekend. Don’t miss the spectacular view of their dance! )

Close approach of the Moon and Mars

Having passed the closest point to the Sun in its orbit, the perihelion, on Monday, August 3, 2020, Mars is going to join the brilliant Moon. The conjunction of the Moon and Mars will happen on Sunday, August 9, 2020, at 08:00 GMT (04:00 a.m. EDT). The Moon will meet Mars in the Pisces constellation, where the celestial bodies will shine at magnitudes of -12.1 and -1.3 respectively.

Lunar occultation of the Red Planet

The observers from South America can witness one more exciting astronomical event — the lunar occultation on August 9, 2020, at 08:38 GMT (04:38 a.m. EDT). Lunar occultations happen when a star or a planet is hidden by the lunar disk that passes between it and the observer. On August 9, the gibbous Moon will pass in front of Mars and block the Red Planet from the observers’ view for several hours.

The Moon at apogee

On Sunday, August 9, 2020, at 13:50 GMT (09:50 a.m. EDT) the Moon reaches its apogee — the most remote point in its orbit from the Earth. The orbit of the Moon is slightly elliptical and thus its distance to the Earth varies by approximately 10%. That is why the Orb of the night appears a little bit smaller these days than usual. Having reached its full phase on August 3, 2020, the Moon is waxing now and will reach the last quarter on August 11, 2020.

--

--

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
Star Walk

Star Walk

Point your device at the sky and see what stars, constellations, and satellites you are looking at 🌌✨ https://starwalk.space